Friday, March 28, 2014

Canada - Northwest Territories - Yellowknife

Aurora Paradise, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada.

Sent by NFVC from Yellowknife, Canada.

Yellowknife /ˈjɛlnf/ (2011 population: 19,234) is the capital city and largest community of the Northwest Territories (NT or NWT), Canada. It is located on the northern shore of Great Slave Lake, approximately 400 km (250 mi) south of the Arctic Circle, on the west side of Yellowknife Bay near the outlet of the Yellowknife River. Yellowknife and its surrounding water bodies were named after a local Dene tribe once known as the 'Copper Indians' or 'Yellowknife Indians' (now referred to locally as the Yellowknives Dene (First Nation)) who traded tools made from copper deposits near the Arctic Coast. The current population is ethnically mixed. Of the eleven official languages of the Northwest Territories, five are spoken in significant numbers in Yellowknife: Dene SulineDogribSouth and North SlaveyEnglish, and French. In the Dogrib language, the city is known as Somba K’e (Som-ba Kay) ("where the money is"). (read further)

No comments: