Thursday, January 16, 2014

Greenland - South Greenland

South Greenland.

Sent by the Official Tourism Site of Greenland from Nuuk, Greenland.

South Greenland was a Danish colony on Greenland consisting of the trading centers and missionary stations along the southwest coast of the island. Its capital was at Godthaab (modern Nuuk).
In 1911, as the administration of the colony was removed from the Royal Greenland Trading Department and folded into the Danish Ministry of the Interior, a provincial council (Danish: landsråd) was established. It was elected indirectly from the local councils and had little say in the management of the colony. (Source)

No comments: