Friday, December 6, 2013

French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF)

French Southern and Antarctic Lands
Port Alfred (Alfred-Faure)

Sent by Philippe, the Mail Manager of Crozet. Thanks to François ZABROT, the Chief District of Crozet for the arrangement.

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands (French: Terres australes et antarctiques françaisesTAAF), in full the Territory of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (French: Territoire des Terres australes et antarctiques françaises) is an overseas territory (FrenchTerritoire d'outre-mer or TOM) of France. It consists of:
  1. Kerguelen (Archipel des Kerguelen), a group of volcanic islands in the southern Indian Ocean, southeast of Africa, approximately equidistant between Africa, Antarctica and Australia;
  2. St. Paul and Amsterdam islands (Îles Saint Paul et Amsterdam), a group to the north of Kerguelen;
  3. Crozet Islands (Îles Crozet), a group in the southern Indian Ocean, south of Madagascar;
  4. Adélie Land (Terre Adélie), the French claim on the Antarctica continent;
  5. the Scattered Islands (Îles Éparses), a dispersed group of islands around the coast of Madagascar.
The territory is also called the French Southern Lands (French: Terres australes françaises) or French Southern Territories. The latter excludes Adélie Land, where French sovereignty is not widely recognized. The lands are not connected to France Antarctique, a former French colony in Brazil.
The territory has no permanent civilian population. Those resident consist of visiting military personnel, officials, scientific researchers and support staff. (read further)

No comments: