Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Antarctica - The Antarctic Treaty

The Antarctic Treaty
The Treaty was negotiated by the 12 nations present in Antarctica during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) (1957-58).  It is a landmark agreement through which countries active in Antarctica consult on the uses of the whole continent.  The Treaty which applies to the area south of 60°S, is surprisingly short but remarkably effective.  Since entering into force on June 23, 1961, the Treaty has been recognized as one of the most successful international agreements ever negotiated.

The postcard is a SURPRISE, sent by someone from Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station in Antarctica. Thank you very much.

No comments: