Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Channel Islands - Bailiwick of Guernsey

South Coast Cliffs at Icart.

Sent by Monica from Saint Peter Port in Guernsey.

Guernsey (/ˈgɜ:nzi/, /ˈɡɜrnzi/ gurn-zee), officially the Bailiwick of Guernsey (FrenchBailliage de GuerneseyIPA: [bajaʒ də ɡɛʁnəzɛ]), is a British Crown dependency in the English Channel off the coast of Normandy. As a bailiwick, Guernsey embraces not only all ten parishes on the Island of Guernsey, but also the islands of Alderney and Sark – each with its own parliament – and the smaller islands of HermJethou and Lihou. Although its defence is the responsibility of the United Kingdom, the Bailiwick is not part of the United Kingdom but rather a possession of the British Crown. It lies within the Common Travel Area of the British Isles and is not a member of the European Union, but has a special relationship with it, being treated as part of the European Community for the purposes of free trade in goods. Together, the Bailiwick of Guernsey and Bailiwick of Jersey form the geographical grouping known as the Channel Islands. (read further)

The stamp must have been peeled off during the journey:)

No comments: